fears of the heart

This morning’s haiku were written based on my own word prompt “fear”.

butcher shop window
autumn sausages in ropes
pigs know in their hearts

* * *

NOTHING CAN GET YOU IF YOUR HEAD IS UNDER THE COVERS.under the covers
whispered sounds and footsteps
fear stalks the blankets

fear stalks the blankets
silent floor monsters glide think
closet door open

closet door open
black on black they wait
exhausted vigil

exhausted vigil
cold air turns too hot to breathe
under the covers

* * *

UNDER THE OFF-RAMP

if I live after
my money’s gone who will care
under the off-ramp

* * *

800px-Naples_-_Old_couple_1890s

my health has been good
what if he dies before me
what if he doesn’t

* * *

If you’d like to play along, please add your response haiku in the comment section.

Thanks for reading.

Alice

17 thoughts on “fears of the heart

    • “Keeping it real”. Thanks for saying so. I suspect my “real” is because I’m rather concrete. You’re so much better with that primary process stuff that washes over the reader with felt meaning.

Leave a comment.

